The day MEGAUPLOAD was shut down.

To remember the day that Megaupload.com — the largest file sharing site worldwide, was shut down by the United States’ FBI, I decided to make this blog.

To tell you honestly, I was about to give you a good news that I got a job. I just started training last Monday. But, when I clicked on Google, I found out that Megaupload was shut down. And I personally think, that this is a bigger news than my job.

Megaupload was the largest file-sharing website worldwide (I keep repeating that because I want everyone to know the shock it brought to millions of netizens.) The U.S. Justice Department has charged seven individuals connected to the file-sharing site Megaupload.com, accusing them of a “massive worldwide online piracy” scheme that costed more than $500 million in damages and generated more than $175 million in profits, according to a Justice Department release Thursday. Megaupload’s CEO is the rapper and DJ Swizz Beatz.

‘international organized criminal enterprise,’

That is what the US Justice Department has called Megaupload. The main site, Megaupload.com which has been shut down, is accused of infringing on copyright by distributing movies, television shows, books and software even before their release dates. The companies Megaupload Limited and Vestor Limited are accused of having a business model “expressly designed to promote uploading of the most popular copyrighted works for many millions of users to download.” The site provided financial incentives for uploading popular content, the indictment charges.

You have to look at it from a fans view.

Megaupload has helped me A LOT!

Hacking collective Anonymous shut down the Department of Justice’s website Thursday, along with those of several other organizations that support anti-piracy efforts.

Among the victims: Universal Music Group, the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA), the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) and the U.S. Copyright Office.

YourAnonNews, a Twitter account affiliated with the group, said this was its biggest attack yet.

I for one.

I stand with Megaupload this time.  I confess, I am an avid user of megaupload — but that is because watching a movie this time has become a hassle. Too costy and I have to make time for it. Time, unfortunately, is something that most of us don’t have the luxury of wasting. I know what they’ll say — that people like me are the reason why the original music industry and movie is slowly dying. But understand us as well. We are not trying to kill anything or anyone. In fact, we want them to continue what they’re doing. It is just that, we don’t have enough time (having said that I have no time when I’m still young indicates how important time is for us because long gone are the days that youths like us are still playing with no care in the world.) Instead of shutting down megaupload and accusing them of anything, the US Government and everyone who has problems against them should just have compromised — in a civilized meeting or something.

I’ll remember forever (or at least as long as I live)

For me, megaupload is like the robin hood of the netizens. It is such a pity that the site was closed down.

 

 

Read more:

http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/01/20/idUS265333843320120120

http://www.3news.co.nz/Megauploads-Kim-Schmitz-arrested-in-Auckland-site-shut-down/tabid/412/articleID/240007/Default.aspx

One thought on “The day MEGAUPLOAD was shut down.

  1. Wonderful submit, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector do not realize this. You should proceed your writing. I am sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!|What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & assist other users like its aided me. Good job.

Leave a Reply

