There is no hope of doing perfect research (griffiths,1998,p97). Do you agree?

Do I agree?

Of course! Why? Because if people can have perfection then that would mean that the needs and wants of human beings have ALL been answered upon. There wouldn’t be any more questions.

Research is finding/ discovering something that would benefit the people. Something that would give answers to the questions of the people, it’s a continuous process. Because, as we all know, HUMANS never get contented with anything.

From the very first person ate a fish, it was a research (But of course, there is still some arguments about that whether it is a research then or just SEARCH). Because, he didn’t know if he would die after he did so or he would live to tell the tale. Had the people from a long time ago, the first person who ate a fish, an animal or a fruit didn’t do what they did, I’m telling you, we would not have been able to have this conversation. We would have been extinct because they’d die of hunger.

Our ancestors had the most brilliant idea of eating fishes and many have died in the process , mostly because of poison or they die before they even caught a fish (Up until now there are still some ongoing researches about fishes as to which are edible and which are not). But, sacrifices are necessary for a research. It is a trial and error process. Yes, it is scientifically based but one can never be so sure. Because research, above all, is the knowing of the unknown.

Research is like being in birthday party of someone. You will meet another person who knew the celebrant (which in this case, the person you met being another researcher and the research being the celebrant). And you would exchange ideas at some point about how you knew the celebrant or have hearty arguments with many other people who got know the celebrant as well and soon you’ll have a pool of persons who argue and question with you. As a result, you will learn more about the celebrant and thus become more aware of him. You can now conclude a lot from this, if the celebrant is a good person or someone… our parents warned us about when we’re still small.

The key word here is SEARCH.

I can still remember my first research. It was back when I was still a junior in our college and I had to do a research about our course, and I chose the jobs that we would soon have after graduation, our options, at least.

While doing our research, I had to contact the alumni of our course, some by walking into their work place, some by phone or some by e-mail (I really am thankful for the researchers of electronic mail). All in all, it was a success. Sure, I didn’t exactly get the result that I wanted but I got something else, something more valuable, knowledge.

I found out while doing that research that the alumni of our course are much more valued in other countries than in our own, the proof of that is how our alumni talked about how hard they looked for jobs that is related to our course after graduation (I am a student of Bachelor in Office Administration Major in Legal Transcription). I had the opportunity of contacting one of our alumni that is currently working in the US and she told me that there are many job offers for people that are taking the same course as us.

I had a hard time looking for people who have done the same research as I did, I looked at several libraries within and outside our campus; I’ve looked into different websites until finally I realized that my research is something that had been thought of first by our group. And that made my research much more valuable, because it was the first, the persons who will do the same research as I did can use my research as a basis.

That’s what’s good about research; it doesn’t usually just end with the author/s it continues. The 100th person who will do the same research as I did could be either lucky or unfortunate, because he/she will have a basis to his/her research that he/she could continue or go against with or too many basis that the researcher would be too much confused that he/she would rather do it all over again.

Another research that I did is for a non-profit youth organization. It was about the alarming contractualization cases here in our country. I found out in that research that there are hardly any regular jobs available for us after graduation. Which means, I wasted my 12+ years of education for a job that would only get me through life for a good 5 to 6 months, and then, I’d either be idle or some other random job?

Our national hero said that the youths are the hope of our nation. And how can that be if the youths today are going to settle with jobs that DOES pay more but only for 6 months and then back to the unemployed line we go? It seems unfair to me.

So what I did in my research is, I interviewed several students (100) what is their course, what do they think of contractualization and most of the times, I give inputs to them on the definition of contractualization. The result showed that most of the students don’t know what contractualization is and that mostly ALL of them (which is very alarming) said that they’d settle with having a 6 month job than nothing at all.

But the problem remains, if I graduate, for example, I could be a legal transcriptionist for 6 months then after that it is back to the unknown. I could either be a transcriptionist again (I’d be thankful if it’s legal transcription) but chances are I’d be a medical transcriptionist if I’d like to stay here in our country, or I’d be service crew at some random food chain (no offense to the current service crews) which is so far from what I’ve learned in school.

But, in fairness to some students, some of them actually said that even though they would accept being a contractual employee for some time, it wouldn’t be forever. They too, most probably, saw the absurdity of studying as, for example, an engineer for 5 years in college and just be an engineer for 6 months, or worse, skip this step and end up being a regular BPO company hopper (no offense of course). It makes me think that I could have not wasted my 4 years of education and just do with a high school diploma, it’s the same fate anyway.

Both of my research was a success, it was informative and I was able to submit my researches to — not only my professor but also to my fellow youth organizers. It is helping us now solve the worsening contractualization issue (it is DEFINITELY much worse than we thought), here in the Philippines.

We shouldn’t ever stop researching, because it is only by that that we fully understand a certain subject. It is only by research that we would know what needs immediate attention or what needs more improvement. We shouldn’t settle, it is not in the nature of human beings to settle anyway. We, humans have a knack for being curious and endlessly looking for loopholes and perfection that I can only conclude that there is really no hope for a perfect research.

 

Sources:

http://www.worldwidedictation.com/legal-transcriptionist.html

http://laborpartyphilippines.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=372&Itemid=41

http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=433161911816

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “There is no hope of doing perfect research (griffiths,1998,p97). Do you agree?

  1. First let me congratulate for coming up with this.it is good speaking ones mind out but in my point of view, i see it rather unending to research. Lots and lots of researches are ongoing each and every minute and there is no way one can come up with a permanent solution to a problem.already done or rather previously done researches help a researcher at least with a foundation to build his/her research.this assists one to know the already designed solutions to specific problems hence finding more ways of killing the rat.two minds are better than one, that’s for sure,the reason why in problem solving such as coming up with a software, more brains (in groups) are required and latter integrating each groups work…..and booomb!!!!!! a new product in the market. business as usual!!!!1

Leave a Reply

