My God is Good.

“Give us this day our daily dose of faux affliction Forgive our sins Forged at the pulpit with forked tongues selling faux sermons. ‘Cause I am a new wave gospel sharp, and you’ll be thy witness So gentlemen, if you’re gonna preach, for God sakes preach with conviction!”

This is the First stanza from Panic at the Disco’s song “I constantly thank God for Esteban” … I don’t know if any of you has heard this song but to me… right now.. when I heard those lyrics… It was striking! of course it’s because I am a catholic.. and so is 80% of all the other Filipinos world-wide.

The lyrics were striking, yes. It caught my attention especially the part of “faux sermons” where FAUX, by the way, according toĀ http://www.answers.com/ is an adjective which meansĀ Artificial or fake. Knowing that, some might think that P!ATD (Panic at the Disco) is being too offensive, and of course, us catholics have the right to say so… but let’s admit it… some of it.. is true.

As a Catholic, I believe in the bible, I believe in it’s teachings and the bible taught me that God is good… but what the parish priest are doing nowadays… is somehow telling me that their God likes to punish people.

Let’s take the controversial RH Bill here in the Philippines now. TheĀ Reproductive Health bills, popularly known as theĀ RH bill, areĀ PhilippineĀ billsĀ aiming to guarantee universal access to methods and information onĀ birth controlĀ and maternal care. The bills have become the center of a contentious national debate. The RH Bill is comprised of several laws that could save Lives of mothers, children, parents and youths.

Some might think that the RH Bill is just about Contraceptives because that is what made it a great debate here in the Philippines. It’s because the PEOPLE especially mothers and youths want to have a Bill passed that could probably save some lives like a “battered child” for example, all of us are pitying a child with lots of bruises and we tend to Hate the parents or the Guardians of the child, but what we don’t understand sometimes are the feelings of the Parents and Guardian themselves.

Maybe the Kid that we were talking about with lots of bruises, is a Kid delivered out of bad faith, like an unexpected one, probably, the parent was raped, or the parent was too young or too poor to afford or have enough knowledge about contraceptives and maybe she tried to get rid of the child before birth but was too late to do so or was hindered by the fact that Abortion is illegal in the Philippines and is considered as a crime. Therefore, as the Kid grow old, looking EXACTLY like the one who wronged them is traumatizing for the mother as well and sometimes, even if she wants to love the child, she couldn’t because it reminds her of someone he probably don’t ever want to meet for the rest of her life.

If I were the Kid, I would have also wanted me dead before birth, because if it’s just me, my pain is not worse than my mother’s pain. It is truly painful to see my beloved mother crying most of the times when she sees me and when she wants to hug me she would end up hurting me, hating me and eventually hate HERSELF. And if a Kid like that grew old in such an environment, although some might turn out Good… All the rest would go Bad and would probably end up the same way, a full circle.

And then now here’s the Church telling people that Contraceptives is poisonous to our health, well, of course it is… if you’re going to abuse it! I just don’t see the sense in it when people believe the church when they talk about contraceptives if they are not suppose to be using it… and not believe the doctors and scientist who have studied it and let it be sold to everyone ALL AROUND THE WORLD. What I really mean to say is, it’s either the church is lying or the scientist are trying to kill us all without our knowledge.

and it all went down to SCIENCE vs. FAITH. I heard a story before, There was a nun who was approached by a pregnant young woman and asked the nun to help her deliver the baby or in this case, abort it, the nun, knowing that the baby inside the mother’s womb is dead, she approved it. To make the long story short, after the incident it was known eventually by the parish at that place and she was EXCOMMUNICATED in her home country. Seriously speaking, If it was me, I’d take being excommunicated anytime knowing that I saved a life of 1 and killed 1 than kill 2 and know inside that I could have at least save one life and let it live to make more life.

The RH Bill not only includes contraceptives but also, education for the youth on the use of it and sex education, and no, they wouldn’t teach kids about the How’s of sex but I think it’s mostly the Why’s which is a good campaign. I mean seriously, How long are you going to make yourselves believe that the Youth these days doesn’t do things like that and would you rather let them get curious and ask other person who is probably as ignorant as the person who asked the question or would you rather admit it to yourselves that kids are getting more and more liberated in their thoughts and let them get taught by teachers as part of the curriculum which is probably organized or teach your kids yourself. We can do without the application, just pieces of information would be fine. I think.

In writing this blog, I never once thought of changing my religion or the church is wrong. I’m just stating my opinion. I’m PRO-LIFE and I choose to be PRO-RH Bill because putting myself inside the Kid’s shoe earlier and the Mother as well or just the “others” or the many who are ignorant about stuffs like these made me realize that we do need some changes, we do need this law and we do need life. This Bill would help me say “NO” to things that I don’t want to happen to me and “YES” to things that I do want to happen.

and to end this blog… I’d leave you with the lyrics of the song as well…

“If the scene were a Parish… We’d all be condemned.”

**this blog is not finished yet… As long as we do not have an RH Bill… I would probably continue blogging. Plus, I admit that there are still things that I do not know… but don’t worry… I’m planning to.

****

There are presently two bills with the same goals:Ā HouseĀ Bill No. 4244 orĀ An Act Providing for a Comprehensive Policy on Responsible Parenthood, Reproductive Health, and Population and Development, and For Other PurposesĀ introduced byAlbayĀ 1st districtĀ RepresentativeĀ Edcel Lagman, andĀ SenateĀ Bill No. 2378 orĀ An Act Providing For a National Policy on Reproductive Health and Population and DevelopmentĀ introduced by SenatorMiriam Defensor Santiago

Leave a Reply

